Fashion field trip: NYC

20151108_163929

New York’s Fashion Institute of Technology has one of my favourite fashion museums.  Their 2011 exhibition of Daphne Guinness’s wardrobe remains one of my favourite exhibitions, not only for the beauty of the clothing but also because it explored the way she expresses her individuality through clothes and pursues creative collaborations with designers like Alexander McQueen and Shaun Leane.

Now I’m excited to see their current show of Susanne Bartsch’s Fashion Underground clothing.  It promises to be a paean to club culture of the 80s as well as offering clothing by John Galliano, Alexander McQueen, Jean Paul Gaultier and Rick Owens but I am especially interested to see the looks by Thierry Mugler as fashion today leans more towards that hourglass silhouette again.   I’m sad that I’ll just miss the opening of the Metropolitan Museum’s Costume Institute show Jacqueline de Ribes: The Art of Style that begins on 19 November – it promises to be an irresistible peek into a dream wardrobe, expertly collected and deployed through a life of unparalleled style.  Instead, I’ll content myself with checking out the Met’s current mini show of Renaissance textile print samples.  Nerdy perhaps, but again, brocades and lavish textiles are very much of the moment again.

I also plan to take a morning to stroll around the garment district (6th-8th Avenues and W39th-W23rd Streets).  Though now a shadow of its former self, the streets are still wonderfully atmospheric, filled with flower and jewellery wholesalers and haberdashers.  This time, I’m on the hunt for hat embellishments to transform some recent buys and have taken note of Fashion City Insider’s report of Albertus Swanepoel’s top millinery suppliers.

Of 20151108_163036 course I’m looking forward to some shopping too and will be visiting some of my favourite vintage shops and, as holiday season is already approaching in the US, I’m hoping to be treated to some stunning window displays, for which Bergdorf Goodman remains pre-eminent.

As I pack my suitcase, I’ll be consulting Bill Cunningham’s reports on Manhattan street style for some inspiration.  New York requires a sharp, well-dressed look.  Black is essential, though this time I think a red dress or two will be going in my bag.  More to come, reporting on all this diverse inspiration – from club culture to holiday windows in a few blocks.  Manhattan has a unique fashion vibe and I love it.

Leave a Reply

